The era of “Lack of attention”

Posted: October 16, 2012 in cookies
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

 

In today’s society, more often I notice that people do not have the attention span to listen to a conversation from start to finish. Let’s take the time to really focus in on why this is becoming an epidemic and how we can try to combat this issue.

Where the problem arisen from?

Let’s imagine ourselves about two thousand years ago. Some of us were running in the jungles chasing animals for food and clothing. Others were picking berries in the fields trying to survive in a much dangerous world. We even had some in caves trying to build a life for themselves. The point I am trying to make here is that everyone had to have sharp concentration in whatever they were doing because danger lurked in every corner. Being attacked by bears, lions, and etc. was very common a few thousand years ago. In today’s society, most developed countries do not possess any real danger for communities in large cities. These people get bombarded with current events, advertisements, and Hollywood lifestyle to worry about any danger or keep their thoughts in line. Not only does our brain no longer feel the need to keep itself active and alert on things happening around you, it begins to deteriorate over time.

Attempts at fixing the problem?

In my attempts at fixing this epidemic for myself, I been trying everything that I can find on this matter. I tried online multiplayer video games for attention practice. The focus was there for approximately 20 min but anything after that, I lost interest. Furthermore, I tried discussing this issue with psychiatrists about my attention issue. What I was referred to was medications that will simply make me active beyond control. I read side effects and discovered that it will disrupt sex life and sleep. Who really needs that? I rather have my thoughts chasing each other than simply lose it all together.  That leaves you with very few options on how to combat this creeping epidemic . The best solution that I found was to keep things short in the beginning and build tolerance for it. Example, if you are trying to read a book, and its not working, try taking a short break and coming back to it. Each time you come back try adding 10 min to it and see how that works. I got around to 2 hours without stopping at a given moment. Another suggestion, try to convince yourself that whatever you are doing is helpful and fun for you. You be surprised by the results if this method works for you.  You be surprised by the results if this method works for you.

Good luck and would like to hear from you on how you are dealing with this issue.

Comments
  1. Nat Davis says:

    Nice writing! Saw your comment on the main wordpress page and so wondered on my way over here. 🙂

    As for attention span- I have the same issue. If I’m not interested, I’m not concentrating. Meds? I wouldn’t even consider it. Too risky, and entirely pointless. Interestingly, we are trained to have short attentions from childhood. Think of it. Movies last maybe an hour, two at the most. Television shows come with commercial breaks for you to get something to eat, talk, do whatever. Even school consists of a few hours of studying broken up with lunch, recess, and class changes. Comparatively, 100 years ago they had no TV, a full day of school/work with no break, and longer attention spans.

    I could go into greater detail, but that’s just it in a nutshell. Glad someone else has picked up on this issue! 🙂

    • Yes this is a big concern to me. Its sort of like the system is designed to weaken our focus for a purpose. (sorry if it sounds very conspirator y )

      • Nat Davis says:

        It could be that, but I don’t think there’s actually one man/organization structuring everything so cleanly. I think it goes deeper than that. It’s in society as a whole, and that doesn’t change with just a few persons. It’s become part of our culture, and that runs deeper than any conspiracy, I think. But you are right, it does serve a purpose- it leads to laws and regulations being enacted that the majority do not agree with, but are too apathetic (due to their attention span) to care.

Leave a Reply

